Not Bright

I met a special someone
in someone
in a gallery
in Insa dong
in 2008

It was winter
but not too cold
but I was frozen-finished
with Korea

  disappointing relationships
  continuing “cultural abrasion”
  just an all-around exhaustion
  with a sort of ubiquitous sameness
  telling me “leave”

 

I’d sworn off Korean women
Then I met “Bright”

She was girlish
womanly
bold
attractive
youthful
mature
engaging

 

Wise
Childish
Afraid
Ugly when angry, yet beautiful enough that I wanted to kiss her at the same time I wanted to scream at her stubbornness

Old, in her conservativism–yet security-inspiring
Immature in her wonderful naivete
Evasive

 

A Celebration
And a Lament
And I am enthralled
for the dissatisfaction around one is always
from
within on;
which one

Solve it, as I have
and see the beauty in all things
most especially
Your muse

Lest you die
in one

Carl Atteniese Jr.

Thanks for coming. What do you think?

